Updated SOM Chapter 2 – Certification Process

Mary Madison, RN, RAC-CT, CDP
Clinical Consultant – Briggs Healthcare®

CMS has posted an updated Chapter 2 – The Certification Process to the State Operations Manual. This Chapter is dated July 6, 2018. The previous chapter carried a revision date of November 4, 2016.

The 11/2016 version of this chapter was 458 pages in length; the 6/2018 version is 461 pages.

Areas where changes are identified by CMS (in red ink) include:

  • Organ Procurement Organizations (page 18)
  • Effective Date of Medicare Provider Agreement or Approval for Suppliers (pages 43 and 44)
  • Hospice Regulations and Non-Medicare Patients (page 83)
  • Verification Criteria (CAH) (page 252)
  • Application of the more than 15-mile drive standard, based on secondary roads (CAH – resource reference) (page 259)
  • Criteria for Extension Location Approval (Rehab Agency) (page 303)
  • All Health and Safety Standards Are Not Met on the Day of the Survey (page 414)
  • Opening the Donation Service Area (DSA) for Competition from other OPOs (pages 422 – 424)

Chapter 2 covers many types of providers including:

  • Hospitals
  • Hospices
  • Intermediate Care Facilities
  • Home Health Agencies
  • Ambulatory Surgical Centers
  • Rural Health Clinics
  • Community Mental Health Centers
  • Critical Access Hospitals
  • End Stage Renal Disease Facilities
  • Outpatient P.T. and Speech Pathology Services
  • Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities
  • Suppliers of Portable X-Ray Services
  • Organ Procurement Organizations
  • Federally Qualified Health Centers
  • Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities

It also addresses specific items including:

  • Spell of Illness Certifications
  • Screening Mammography
  • Life Safety Code
  • Utilization Review
  • Survey Process